Zero To Hero: Day 28 – Expanding My Thoughts On Being A Good Neighbor

Today’s challenge wants us to expand on our most popular blog post. I was a bit surprised to find out that one of my top posts is the one I wrote about being a good neighbor. So let’s expand on that a wee bit more.

Thanks to Zero To Hero, I have found a small plethora (plethora just sounds sooo big… and handful seems too small) of blogs to follow, and I have also learned a few new things. (I’ll save the details for later, 10 to 1 we will have that as a challenge 😉 ). Thanks to that, I started following a few more blogs that aren’t necessarily related to my niche (what niche? The No-Niche niche?) that gave me food for thought.

On today’s note, what else can I say on commenting a.k.a. being a good neighbor? Allow me to share a few of my own tips that I tend to practice when commenting. If these all are common sense to you, I apologize in advance.

  • Don’t use foul language, even if you disagree with the author of the article. By foul language, I mean don’t call them names, tell them they are stupid or idiotic or anything of the sorts. In short, follow Thumper’s rule: “If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all.”
  • If you really liked the article, instead of just liking it/commenting, why not use those share buttons under a post? Be sure to include their Twitter handle, if you share it on Twitter, and include your own two cents. Don’t just share the link mindlessly, tell your followers why you recommend it. It doesn’t have to be long (and it pretty much can’t be long) but a short, sweet compliment goes along way.
  • You don’t have to necessarily link to the home page of your blog. What I mean is this: in the field under the comments, where you enter the website link (for commenting on blogs not on WordPress.com) you can enter for example the link to your About page, or even a link to the post that is relevant to the article you just read.   I underlined this because I don’t want you to abuse this to spam the blogger with irrelevant info! Use that option ONLY if your blog post is relevant to the article.
  • Don’t include a link to your website in the body of the comment. It’s not necessary because your name links to your blog automatically.
  • “Great post” or “Thanks for this” doesn’t really add to the conversation. If you can’t think of anything to say, look through the other comments, and maybe they will inspire you.
  • Don’t go overboard either, if it’s longer than a paragraph, you might want to expand on that in your own blog post and link to the original article.
  • If you do link to another blogger’s post (in your post), you can always email them and let them know you linked to them and why.
  • You can also reply to other commenters as well, if they ask a question that nobody answered and you have the answer, feel free to jump in and help them.
  • Reply to comments on your own blog. Nothing saddens me more than when I visit a blog, see a bunch of comments but no word from the blog owner. Makes me wonder if they are even alive.
  • Commenting and connecting takes a lot of work and time. Make time for it in your schedule. You don’t have to comment every day, every time they publish a post, but be consistent. I usually save around an hour every day to go through Reader//Bloglovin’ and see what happened. If I don’t comment, I like the posts or favorite them, and then go back to them and leave a comment when I have set time for commenting. (Yes, I actually schedule my commenting and social media time- if I didn’t, I’d never have time for anything else).
  • Last but not least, be respectful and polite.

I hope I helped with these tips, if you already knew about them, I apologize. If not, yay me!

6 thoughts on “Zero To Hero: Day 28 – Expanding My Thoughts On Being A Good Neighbor

  1. Verynice! I especially liked the suggestion to jump in and answer a comment or question from another commenter–they oftenseem to fal lon deaf ears! The linkingback is somethigI forget–and the too long paragraph–good reminder and good suggestion to blog about it and link back! (wondering if I should do that right now as you have me thinking about this assignment!) LOL, we’ll see,enjoyed it,helen

Leave a Reply

